Dear friends and family,   

Since February there have been some major changes in my site placement and living situation, ultimately reshaping the direction of the remainder of my time in Mexico.   

After an unexpected and heart-crushing turn of events, a whirlwind of social and legal issues in the village became heated and intense. Until things subside, the organization had to significantly decrease its presence in the village and put a halt to the work that is being carried out.     

Sarah and I ended our placement and without having the chance to visit the village one last time and say goodbye. It’s been tough. 

This week has been a sort of physical and spiritual “limbo” for me. I feel that all this upheaval has left me feeling torn and uprooted. I’ve said painful goodbyes to our coworkers in the office but haven’t had that same chance with those dear to me in the village. Plus there’s been a lot of packing and unpacking in a few short days – and more to come in the next phase (moving in with a homestay family in Cuernavaca and adjusting to a new work site). 

After Sarah and I carefully packed our bags and left the apartment, our country coordinator Andrea and her husband Luke graciously took us in for a week (even though they were in the midst of a move, too). We settled in with them for a couple days and then moved into their new house. Here we’ve been staying while Andrea sorts out separate placement sites and living situations. It’s true, as someone pointed out, that’s we’re in good hands with Andrea “at the helm.” 

But even before the shifts from apartment to house, and house again, last Sunday I got to see familiar faces during a Skype conversation with my home congregation, St. Luke’s. I could feel the love in that room! It was so wonderful to share what my experience has been like in the village, to describe the place, the people, and the stories we share. More than anything, it gave me new energy to and openness to embrace what’s in front of me. 

The up-rootedness that seems to be unfolding all around me will gradually fade into the past. Of that I’m sure. Still, I don’t know what comes next. What I’m most grateful for now is the tons of support and encouragement like what I experienced last Sunday. I know the joys, struggles, and vulnerability in these past weeks are held with great care and empathy; transforming, in a sense, this time of up-rootedness into feelings of rootedness. 

From the bottom of my heart, thanks to each and every one of you for being who you are and helping me grow from here. 

In peace, 
Katie
12/26/2010 09:00:58 am

Write very well, there are some others that resonate.

Reply

Sunglass is a kind of to prevent sunlight intense stimulation to the human eye damage caused by the eyesight health supplies, as people to raise the level of material culture, sunglasses and beauty or reflect personal style as a special act the role ofing is tasted.

Reply



Leave a Reply.