Sometimes I’m caught off-guard by how people present this phrase differently: “You’re going on a mission…” – insert period, exclamation point, question mark, comma, dot, dot, dot…

Occasionally I hear: “So, you’re going on a mission.” I feel like this person telling me what I’m doing.

There is also the one who excitedly wonders: “You’re going on a mission?!” This person shares her or his ideas of how ‘exotic’ of an experience this will be and alerts me as to the dangers of travel or, better yet, travel tips.

Then the person who gently asks: “You’re going on a mission?” This one will always pause. And even though it is not fair of me, I am cringing.

I defensively smile and say: “Well…”  

As I stammer through my response, the words “Relationship…Community…Living simply… and Accompaniment” jump out. If the conversation leads to a certain point, I will often replace the verb “Serve” with “Share” and, in all honesty, I can’t explain why. Sometimes I’m more focused on getting out those few important words than communicating what I expect the role of YAGM volunteer is like. It’s just another one of those things that makes me tighten my lips and squint my eyes when I again say: “Well…”

Occasionally I’ll say “Engage in global mission” or “Mission practice” but does this make a difference to the one who asks if I’m “going on a mission” – Period? Would these words fall flat on the wide-eyed, enthusiastic person who has lots of advice and stories to share after saying: “You’re going on a mission” – Exclamation Point? Maybe the patient listener who asks “You’re going on a mission” – Question Mark – is offering more understanding than I can realize. I am always thankful for their pause and maybe the next time this happens, I will ask what they mean by “Mission” because this is a packed word.

It might seem confrontational but I simply do not see the role of a YAGM as one who is or will “go on a mission.” I can’t bring myself to use that phrase. Borrowing from ELCA Global Mission: “Global Mission is God’s Mission. The church does not have a mission—the mission of God has a church!” This means that the two-thirds world is not the object of the church’s mission. Instead, I see the role of a YAGM volunteer as someone who embraces the possibilities of community and relationship; because mission service is - and is in - relationship. 

Clearly, it’s too early to assume that I know exactly what my role as a YAGM in Mexico will be like but I’d add that - (1) under the model of mission by accompaniment, (2) of mission that embraces the fullness of God’s experience made possible in community, (3) and of mission where at the center of all reality is relationship - then yes (of course!), I am entering into global mission service!

We are all the products of many people and places, so how can we be whole without fully recognizing that relationship is what binds us as a global community?  In community sustained by Love, mission takes its shape and form in relationship. I think this is what grounds our experience – the Biblical, historical and contextual meaning of relationship is central to our identity. And there is certainly enough evidence to illustrate the negative toll that mission can take when it is not done within this framework (which is probably what prompts these questions!).

While I’m still honing my ability to respond to the entire “You’re going on a mission” Period. Exclamation Point. Question Mark fiasco without a hesitant “Well…”, I’ll do my best to wipe that awful cringe off my face, stammer through my reply, and continue to mention the oh-so-important centrality of mission in relationship.

It might sound like this: “Well… Mission, shmishon… mission is relationship.”

7/14/2009 10:00:02 am

Keep wrestling with your answer. Kind of like Jacob did with the angel. He was changed forever after that episode....walked with a limp. What a blessing, eh?
I love you dear.

Reply
Laura
7/15/2009 03:41:10 am

Katie,
You have obviously put a lot of thought into your role in this new phase of your life. I think you are right to describe it as a relationship - you will be changed and you will make change.
Your writing is always a joy to read so keep up the good work.
Love,
Laura

Reply
S.Radford
7/17/2009 08:51:46 am

You are definitely on the right track...stumblings and mumblings included. If you had it all figured out your "mission" would end up being inflexible, ineffectual and frustrating. Can't wait to see what happens when the "wrestling" (to use your mom's word!) ends and God takes over! Love you Katie!

Reply
Danielle Rowaan
7/17/2009 03:11:18 pm

You're always thought-provoking, Katie my dear! I'm uncomfortable with the word "mission" too...myabe because of the under-the-surface feeling towards Christian missions that I've found with several global development profs. You're right, though, the two thirds world is not our mission to fix. What does that mean for those of us who want to work there? Umm...more questions! (Hmm..if relationship is the centre of all reality, that makes the continually giving, relational nature of the Trinity very important, doesn't it?)
Thanks for writing, Katie. :)

Reply
11/11/2010 02:44:40 pm

Wonderful Weblog! Incredibly useful, I value each of the info that you simply shared with me incredibly significantly and I also bookmarked this on dig as well. Take care and I
’ll be back again to examine extra inside long term.

Reply
12/5/2010 04:53:22 pm

Thank you for taking the time to publish this information very useful!

Reply



Leave a Reply.